Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Web Design

edited November 2006 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
So, I know how to design web pages. I have read up and worked with CSS / XHMTL for a while, but I am never impressed with my work. Simply mediocre. I have zero knowledge with creating graphics. How should I go about learning? For example, what softwares do you use [for a Mac]? Any books? tutorials? I like fresh / clean designs [not graphic heavy], but do not know how to create anything worth looking at. For example, I would like to be able to create the graphics found in the header of Vanilla. Stuff like that.

Comments

• http://www.cameronmoll.com/
  • That's a good question. Personally, I use Photoshop primarily. But in support of that I also use Fireworks and Flash from time to time. That's just me though. Some use GIMP or other programs. If you have an Intel based Mac, be advised that any current PS version (CS2 and down) aren't universal and will run under rosetta. This will be corrected in CS3, which is due out next year. However it isn't too bad under rosetta, so if you found a copy at a fair price it might be worth it. If you've yet to take the Intel plunge, than the current PS versions would be fine. To be honest, I can't say about the current Flash/Fireworks universal status. My primary dev machine is still a G5, and I've been waiting on CS3 to update with one of the new Mac Pro's and move the G5 to a supporting role.
  • Thank you for the feedback, guys.... Thunder, I didn't know that.... Maybe I should just stick to a PC for graphics for now... not sure exactly how to approach it....
  •  Quote: litbynature  Maybe I should just stick to a PC for graphics for now...
    That's like using skipping ropes to train for climbing Mount Everest!
    Professionals use Macs!