Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

why am I gettin the bonk screen after moving to a new server?

I just moved from a shared server to a managed server but my domain name stayed the same. The only change was the server name, user name, and DB name. I edited the config file to point to the new server and I get the bonk screen, but if I point back at the old server it works again :(. I tried turning on error reporting but still only get user friendly error message, please help!

Answers

• hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

Search first

Check out the Documentation! We are always looking for new content and pull requests.

Click on insightful, awesome, and funny reactions to thank community volunteers for their valuable posts.

• I have never used vanilla before however I am trying to pick up where the original developer left off. please bare with me.... I do not know how to find the version of vanilla and as i said before I cannot get it to display an actual error even after adding $Configuration['Garden']['Errors']['MasterView'] = 'deverror.master.php';

I am happy to help. If you read the link I gave you, it doesn't mention that config item at all.

Please read both of the links and answer the questions so we can help.

Search first

Check out the Documentation! We are always looking for new content and pull requests.

Click on insightful, awesome, and funny reactions to thank community volunteers for their valuable posts.

• SQLSTATE[HY000] [1045] Access denied for user

• trigger_error(ErrorMessage('An error occurred while attempting to connect to the database', $this->ClassName, 'Connection', $ex->getMessage()), E_USER_ERROR);

61: }